History of the TCCAA

The Tennessee Community College Athletic Association was originally established in 1968 as the Tennessee Junior & Community College Athletic Association (TJCCAA).  It has also been part of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Region VII.

The formal announcement of the TJCCAA was made on May 9, 1968 at Cumberland College in Lebanon, Tennessee.  And election of officers was made with Dr. L.P. Sands, Athletic Director at Columbia State, being named President.  Dr. F. E. Wright, President at Jackson State Community College, was named Vice-President.  Secretary was Van Washer, Basketball Coach at Cumberland College.  Kermit Smith, Athletic Diurector at Martin College, was named Publicity Director.  Members selected At Large were Hoyt Kirk, Basketball Coach at Freed-Hardeman College, and Joe Crabtree, Basketball Coach & Athletic Director at Cleveland State Community College.

Original members named were Columbia State Community College, Chattanooga City College, Cumberland College, Cleveland State Community College, Freed-Hardeman College, Hiwassee College, Jackson State Community College, Martin College, and Morristown College.